Home Matric Different Certificates You Can Get In Adult Matric

Different Certificates You Can Get In Adult Matric


Adult matric was created to give adults, 21 and older the opportunity to obtain a Senior Certificate (Amended). A Senior Certificate is the equivalent of a Matric Certificate. Once you receive your Senior Certificate you will also obtain other certificates along the way, but what are they?

A Matric Certificate is an important qualification as it opens the doors to entry-level jobs and tertiary education. Those who do not have a matric certificate or who have not obtained one while they will school have a chance to do so with an Adult Matric.

To qualify for an adult matric, you need to have at least obtained a Grade 9 or the equivalent which is an ABET certificate. An Adult Basic Education Certificate (ABET) will equip you with general education and training.

Adult matric comprises of 6 subjects (3 compulsory subjects and 3 elective subjects). You will also need to choose 2 compulsory language subjects and 1 mathematics subject.

Which certificates can you obtain on your way to an Adult Matic?

  • ABET Certificate/GETC Certificate (NQF Level 1) 
    • The equivalent of Grade 9 and needs to be obtained in order to qualify for an Adult Matric course
  • Elementary Certificate (NQF Level 2)
    • The equivalent of a Grade 10
  • Intermediate Certificate (NQF Level 3)
    • The equivalent of a Grade 11
  • Senior Certificate (NQF Level 4)
    • The equivalent of a Grade 12 or Matric Certificate

All the certificates mentioned above are in NQF levels, which range from levels 1-10, 1 being the lowest and 10 being the highest. NQF levels 1-4 represent the certificates you can achieve in school or on your journey towards an Adult Matric.

Leave a Reply