Here Are Some Radiography Courses On Offer

If you are interested in pursuing radiography as a career there are many courses which you could take to obtain a qualification in this field, here is a list of radiography courses on offer in South Africa.

Radiography is an imaging technique using X-rays, gamma rays, or similar ionizing radiation and non-ionizing radiation to view the internal form of an object.

Radiographers work in the healthcare field and are also known as radiologic technologists, diagnostic radiographers and medical radiation technologists.

They specialize in the imaging of human anatomy for the diagnosis and treatment of pathology.

Here is a list of the radiography courses on offer at institutions around South Africa:

Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT)

The Cape Peninsula University of Technology offers Bachelor of Science (BSc) degrees in many fields of Radiography, namely:

  • Bachelor of Science in Diagnostic Radiography
  • Bachelor of Science in Diagnostic Ultrasound
  • Bachelor of Science in Nuclear Medicine
  • Bachelor of Science in Radiation Therapy

University of Johannesburg (UJ)

The University of Johannesburg offers a Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Diagnostic Radiography.

This is a full-time course which aims to develop a competent professional, who has thorough grounding in the knowledge and skills required for Diagnostic Radiography.

Students also gain experience in applying such knowledge and skills in accredited workplaces.

University of Pretoria (UP)

The University of Pretoria offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Radiography in three professional fields, namely Diagnostics, Radiation Therapy and Nuclear Medicine.

The Bachelor of Radiography (BRad) degree on offer is a full-time course, spanning three years. From the second year, students can choose to specialize in a specific field of Radiography.

Durban University of Technology (DUT)

The Department of Radiography within the Faculty of Health Sciences at Durban University of Technology caters to the four main disciplines of Radiography, namely:

  • Diagnostic Radiography
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Radiotherapy
  • Ultrasound

University of the Free State (UFS)

The Department of Clinical Imaging Sciences at the University of the Free State offers specialized training in the field of diagnostic and interventional imaging to medical doctors, medical students, and radiographers while rendering a wide variety of imaging services.

Over a four year period, students will have a full range of radiological services taught by experienced, qualified radiologists and radiographers.

These radiography courses listed above may be applied in medical and industrial radiography.

Leave a Reply